The Board

Terry Eastwood – Chair

Terry Eastwood is Professor Emeritus of the School of Library, Archival and Information Studies at the University of British Columbia, where for 30 years he educated archivists. Prior to that he spent 8 years as an archivist at the Provincial Archives of British Columbia. He is keenly interested in the connection between archives and history in general and historical accountability of governments in particular.

Jill Kelly – Vice Chair

Jill Kelly has lived in Vancouver since 1970 She is currently a member of the Grandview Heritage Group. She first visited the Archives 25 years ago, while researching the history of her home (built 1912). She hopes to learn more about the Archives and its holdings. She has a background in charities governance and is a Certified General Accountant.

Margaret Cadwaladr – Secretary

Margaret Cadwaladr is the author of Canadian bestseller In Veronica’s Garden: the Social History of the Milner Gardens and Woodland. The book was a finalist for an international award sponsored by the Council on Botanical and Horticultural libraries as an “outstanding contribution to the literature of horticulture or botany.” She has had many articles published locally and internationally in magazines, newspapers and journals and has extensive experience as a public speaker. Margaret was born in Vancouver, BC and graduated from the University of British Columbia (MA, Diploma Adult Education) and has a special interest in autobiography and life story. She currently lives in New Westminster.

Neal Jennings – Treasurer

Neal Jennings is a CPA, CA running a home-based tax practice and accounting education consulting business. He has a bachelor of accounting from Brock University, where he served on the board of his student union and as president of the campus pride organization, Brock Pride. He has long had an interest in local history, and is particularly interested in supporting meaningful access to it through the Archives’ digitization process.

John Atkin – Director

John is a civic historian, writer and walking tour guide. He has published five books about Vancouver, two co-authored with Michael Kluckner; his most recent publication is Changing City [2010] written with Andy Coupland. As a consultant, John has written the Chinatown Lighting Strategy for the City of Vancouver [2008], the City of Vancouver’s successful nominations for the Lee Kuan Yee World City Prize [2011] and the Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation [2012], John co-authored, with Jeannette Hlavach, the successful 2010 application for Chinatown’s National Historic District status. He is a board member and co-chair of the Chinese Canadian Historical Society of BC and sits as a member of the City’s Civic Assets Naming Committee.

Lani Russwurm – Director

Aaron Chapman – Director

Aaron Chapman is a writer, historian and musician with a special interest in Vancouver’s entertainment history. Born and raised in Vancouver, he has been a contributor to the Vancouver Courier, Georgia Straight, and CBC Radio. A graduate of the University of British Columbia, he is also a member of Heritage Vancouver and the Point Roberts Historical Society.

Miriam Blume – Director

Wendy Hunt – Director

Kate Rogers – Director